a fall treat

Recently, my mother went apple picking and shared her abundant harvest with me… looks like I won’t need to go again until next fall! Unfortunately this also means that I won’t be enjoying the homemade apple cider donuts at my favorite orchard. So, Saturday afternoon I took a break from a quilt I am working on (cannot wait to share that with you!) to make some apple cider donuts of my own. Off I went to Google! I stumbled into the lovely blog, Smitten Kitchen, and found the most amazing recipe for apple cider donuts from Deb. It takes a few steps but it’s well worth the work! I can’t quite explain the blissful feeling I had when I sat down in front of a platter (plus a cake stand!) full of hot glazed and cinnamon-sugar-dipped donuts. After enjoying 2 donuts, some sliced apple, and cheese I decided to share this seasonal favorite with the neighborhood and put together plates for door-to-door delivery. I would highly recommend this recipe and the Smitten Kitchen blog!

Leave a Reply

